Background on the Presidential Council for Religious Harmony (PCRH)

- 1. The PCRH is set up under the Maintenance of Religious Harmony Act (MRHA). The PCRH serves in an advisory capacity to the Minister for Home Affairs and the President. According to Section 4(1) of the MRHA, the PCRH has two functions:
 - a. To consider and report to the Minister on matters affecting the maintenance of religious harmony in Singapore; and
 - b. To recommend to the President whether to confirm the Restraining Orders issued by the Minister. All Restraining Orders have to be confirmed by the President before they can be implemented.
- 2. The PCRH comprises representatives from the major religions in Singapore, and distinguished members of the public. The PCRH comprises a Chairman and between six and 15 members, and two-thirds or more of the members shall be representatives of the major religions in Singapore. The Chairman and members shall be appointed by the President, on the advice of the Presidential Council for Minority Rights.
- 3. The current PCRH Chairman is Justice Chao Hick Tin. There are nine members, of which seven are representatives from the different major religions and two are lay members. The current Council is as follows:
 - a. Justice Chao Hick Tin Senior Judge, Supreme Court (Chairman)
 - b. Venerable Seck Kwang Phing President, Singapore Buddhist Federation (Buddhist Representative)
 - c. Archbishop William Goh Archbishop of Catholic Church in Singapore (Roman Catholic Representative)
 - d. Dr Mohamed Fatris Bakaram Mufti of Singapore (Muslim Representative)
 - e. Bishop Emeritus Wee Boon Hup Past President of the National Council of Churches Singapore (Protestant Representative)
 - f. Mr M Rajaram Past Chairman of the Singapore Indian Chamber of Commerce and Industry, and term trustee of the Singapore Indian Development Association (Hindu Representative)
 - g. Mr Surjit Singh s/o Wazir Singh Chairman of the Sikh Advisory Board (Sikh Representative)
 - h. Associate Professor Lee Cheuk Yin Academic adviser to the Taoist Federation and Taoist Mission (Taoist Representative)

- i. Professor Lily Kong President, Singapore Management University
- j. Ms Juthika Ramanathan Chief Executive, Office of the Chief Justice, Supreme Court
- 4. Each term of appointment is three years. The term for the current Council expires in September 2020.